Sunsets

One of the things I have loved most about living here is the quality of the sunsets. All summer long George and I would wander down to the beach to watch the sun sink beneath the horizon. The sky was never the same any two evenings. One night we’d be treated to a range of purples and pinks and indigos; the next it would be oranges and golds and reds.

The reflections on the ocean were mesmerising. On more than one occasion I walked down with my camera, sat on the rocks and just waited, watching. Time stops at the ocean. I can hear the waves and observe the sky flirting with the setting sun, but I could be there at any time in history. It’s only when I turn my back on the sea and walk back to the road that the 21st century returns to me.

I hope you’ll enjoy some of the sunsets I’ve shared here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by

Annette

Writer, photographer, creative fantasist.

Leave a Reply

