Birdy

There’s a pheasant wandering around in the fields behind us. Every so often I can hear its croaking call.I don’t know if it’s a male or female, but I’m guessing, as Spring is in the air, it’s looking for a mate.

A few months ago a pheasant was marching up and down outside our fence at the front. He kept this up for around an hour before taking wing and disappearing. I found him later that evening, settled down behind the oil tank.

We really are spoiled for birds here. I have learned so much just by looking out the back garden. Starlings are still my favourite, but I love dunnocks too. At first glance they’re just wee brown things, but closer inspection reveals shades of silver grey. Pretty wee things.

16233783094_0efa63335d_z

Published by

Annette

Writer, photographer, creative fantasist.

Leave a Reply

